top of page

EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW WITH BILL APTER!



Through The Ropes' Jack Williams interviewed Wrestling Royalty, In the one and only Mr Bill Apter!

Welcome to Through The Ropes Mr Apter, Although no introduction is required, please first introduce yourself to our readers? "I am said to be the world's most recognizible Pro Wrestling/Sports Entertainment journalist, reporter, photo-journalist. This is my 50th year covering this colorful, wild, fun, genre and I look forward to 50 more! Here is a link to a recent story that says it all ... http://www.miamiherald.com/sports/fighting/article141892774.html" Of all the matches you've seen, What one match sticks in your mind as the greatest of all time and why?

"I can't pinpoint one. They go by generations for example in the 70's there was Jack Brisco vs. Dory Funk Jr. Then we move to further years and see Ric Flair vs. Ricky Steamboat. That takes us to the days of Bret Hart vs. Shawn Michaels. I could go on and on but not picking out one match." Which Wrestler of all time has impressed you most, say for most improved or the best you ever witnessed?

"Again that is something so difficult to put my finger on. John Cena keeps coming up in my mind. I've seen him grow from his near teen days to a fully-funtional-pro wrestlng machine. Love him or if you think "Cena Sucks" you cannot argue you about his excellent in-ring skills."


What first attracted you to wrestling? "Watching it on TV as a youngster in New York. It was good guys vs. bad guys fighting it out on live TV. That is what hooked me."

What allured you into a career of wrestling journalism? "I could not find a road to being a wrestling broadcaster. I was fascinated by the wrestling magazines I purchased and it was the stories and the photos that took me deep into the world of Pro Wrestling where I wanted to be and eventually found my way in (read my book folks lol -- it's all there)."

What advice would you give for someone following in your footsteps? "The same I give everyone -- keep writing and NEVER piss anyone off! Once you do that it's a chain reaction in the business. Someone gets mad at what you wrote or said and tells someone and they tell another. By the time it gets around you're out of the business even before you fully get in! I've seen that happen dozens of times!"

Lets for a while talk about your amazing book, What inspired you to write your book? "The fans, my family, and the publisher -- ECW Press -- and editor Greg Oliver who told me that it is time to document my life in the business as it's important for others to view it from my perspective. I'm glad I did it. It's added another wonderful layer onto my career.

What was it like working with Jerry Lawler? "Amazing. As you know I am the person who introduced him to Andy Kaufman. He has been a wonderful person to do business with but moreso a dear friend and confident."

Are there plans for a follow up?

"Not at this time although some people in my inner circle are trying to convince me to do another one!"

What other ambitions do you have in life besides wrestling?

"I'm an entertainer. I love to sing and perform comedy and do things things in front of a live crowd. Let me entertan you!"

Which style/s of pro wrestling are your favourite to watch?

"I've always been a big fan of the high flyers."

Where do you hope to be or do in the next decade in wrestling?

"Still alive lol! Really still doing interviews, hosting and appearing at fan conventions. I still get a real charge out of interacting with a fan base I am thrilled to have!


What is your proudest moment in your career? "Being asked to do a pilot show on the WWE Network."

Who would be your ultimate fantasy match? Dead or alive? "Mil Mascaras in his prime vs. Antonino Rocca in his prime."

Which wrestling products do you watch? and any recommendations for us? "Raw, Smackdown, Impact, 205 Live, NXT, Ring Of Honor .... that's about all I have time to watch. Suggested for you? All of the above and New Japan Pro Wrestling as well!"

Where can the readers find Bill Apter and where can we buy your book? "The print version is at many fine book shops, and at Amazon. The download audio, which I narrate (you get to hear some of my imitations like Dusty Rhodes and Superfly Snuka, is at Audible.com. There is also an MP3-CD version at Amazon and Audible. I am on www.1wrestling.com most days. My twitter name is @apter1wrestling and my email address is bapter@1wrestling.com. We've just switched our video home from youtube to Daily Motion. Just do a search for 1wrestlingvideo on Daily Motion."

Is there anything else you would like to say or plug? "My podcast is currently at www.podcastarena.com. It's a magazine style format and it's titled after my book "Is Wrestling Fixed? I Didn't Know It Was Broken!""

Thankyou Mr Bill Apter for Climbing 'Through The Ropes'! "Thank you for letting me climb in!"

Closing note;

I'd like to personally thank Mr Apter for taking time out of his busy schedule for this interview. Once again, I present to you Bill Apter!

bottom of page