top of page

EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW WITH PHIL ATLAS!


Through The Ropes' Jack Williams on 12/09/2018 interviewed the Canadian Hero! Phil Atlas!

JW:- Firstly, Can we start with who your main influences in pro wrestling were? PA:- "Main Influences.... Its really hard to say... I was always into the Performance Aspect, which can be takin' from any form of Entertainment... From Movies, to Music... If we are talking strictly from a Wrestling StandPoint... I always rooted for the UnderDogs. On the other hand, Stone Cold Steve Austin was My Dude, My Guy, & I was about 13 years old when He was on top, so I was heavily influenced by Him. That's pretty much when I knew I was gonna follow this Path, & become a Professional Wrestler"

JW:- How did your beginning in wrestling come along? PA:- "I'm from Windsor, ON. So due to Geographical Convenience, I had access to The Can-Am Wrestling School right in my HomeTown. I used to attend Border City Wrestling Shows as a kid... & as soon as I was 18, I joined up with Scott D'Amore, & began My Training. Full Circle Type Situation... Cuz now I am The Head Trainer @ The Can-Am Wrestling School"

JW:- So in Canada, when you first stepped into the ring and wrestled your first official match, How did it go and feel? what were your immediate thoughts? PA:- "I was Ready... In my own mind, I was The Best. Lol. Clearly I wasn't... But... I'm a firm believer that you really need to believe in yourself, & believe that you belong on that Stage. All Wrestlers have some kind of an Ego, you just have too if your gonna put yourself on Public Display like we do. You can't be worried about what ppl will think, whose watching, if you deserve the Spot. Confidence is Key, & I was definitely Confident"

JW:- What would you say is the proudest moment of your career so far? PA:- "Being in the MainEvent for an All Japan Pro Wrestling Show in Taiwan against Kaz Hyashi for The Junior Weight Title. Also Wrestling in a Sold-Out Sumo Arena Show was something Special. Also.. Winning the Border City Wrestling Heavyweight Title back in 2012 was def something to remember... Another Full Circle Type Situation."

JW:- What are some of your personal favourite matches of all time? and why those? PA:- "Guerrero vs Angle at 1 of the Mania's.. For sure.. Bret vs Austin from WrestleMania 13 is up there.. There's soo many.. Its honestly hard to pick. I saw Bryan Cage vs Nakajima Live in Tokyo... And that would be the most recent one Ive seen that Id have to say... Bravo!"

If you could go back in time and have a match against anyone that's ever lived, who would you choose? "Eddie [Guerrero]"

What other ambitions do you have in wrestling, and outside of wrestling? "I am dying to Wrestle in the U.K. Also, A Contract with WWE or Impact would be great. Besides Wrestling, I have been dabbling with Acting for awhile now. Extra Work & whatnot... I also would like to be able to settledown with My Significant Other 1 day & have a lil more stability in my life. Maybe a Family... We'll see tho"

I hope I havent made you plan your whole life out lol "I kinda need that actually. Stability is good, & currently, that's what 'lacking"

What is the moment in your life that you are most proudest of? "Becoming a Wrestler & mastering My Craft... Training Students is always something I value... The connection I have with My Audience... Really, I have yet to have My Proudest Moment. I believe its still yet to come."

With that said, What does the future hold in wrestling for Phil Atlas? or will we have to wait? "Im afraid at this point, I dont know... This is a Crazy Biz, nothing's guaranteed... So your gonna have to wait, cuz I'm waiting myself"

Where can our readers find Phil Atlas? "Twitter: @PhilAtlas, F.B: Search - Phil Atlas and Instagram: atlasbushido_88"

Is there anything you would like to say or mention to conclude? "Just keep watching.. Im out here doing my thing, Id hate for my work to go unnoticed... I appreciate every single person thats ever looked me up or checked me out."

Lastly but not least, Thank you Dearly Mr. Phil Atlas for Climbing 'Through The Ropes'! "Thank You Man. Much Appreciated."


Closing Note; I'd like to thank Phil for taking time out of his schedule for this interview with us. Once again, I present to you Phil Atlas!

bottom of page