top of page

EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW WITH CODY DEANER!


Through The Ropes' Jack Williams on 07/06/2019 interviewed Cody Deaner!

JW: Through The Ropes is proud to present to you the "Leader of the Redneck Renegade", Cody Deaner!


JW: Starting off, Where did your career in wrestling begin and how did it come about?

CD: "My career started in Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada with an amazing trainer - “Dangerboy” Derek Wylde. I approached him at an indy show in like ‘99-2000 asking about getting into the business. He told me he was maybe going to start a wrestling school soon and he’d be in touch. He stayed true to his word and contacted me when he opened up his school. The school was 3 hours from me. So I travelled 6 hours round trip 2-3 times a week for a year to learn my craft. Without Derek Wylde teaching me how to wrestle AND how to conduct myself as a professional in the locker room & with promoters I wouldn’t be where I am today."


JW: Who were your main influences in Wrestling for you moveset and your character?

CD: "I’m a HUGE wrestling fan. The only person I’ve met that MIGHT be more of a wrestling fan than me is Tommy Dreamer. Haha. We’ve spent many hours discussing our love for this business. Like Tommy, I love wrestling history so I watch a lot of older stuff.

I don’t steal “moves” from people per say. I more watch how they put together a story and learn from that and think of ways I can make what they did my own. Guys like Hogan, Austin, Michaels, Funk, Steamboat, Rhodes. Well... I guess I do steal moves. I stole Jake Roberts’ finish and have been using it for close to a decade. I’m proud to say that in a decade, no one has kicked out of it. But even with that, I tweaked how I do the DDT to somewhat make it my own."


JW: Despite not getting your fair dues in your first run in TNA, You are back in Impact Wrestling with a bang. What is different for you this time around?

CD: "This time around, I’m not handcuffed with my character. In my first run, I was portraying a “fan” who was in love with ODB... but was a fan. So I wasn’t supposed to be able to wrestle. Kind of hard to show how good you are in the ring when you’re supposed to have a match but make it look like you don’t know what you’re doing. Haha. This time there are no handcuffed. I’m not only given the opportunity to show what I can do in the ring... I’m encouraged to GIV’ER and go balls out. Not only that, me and Cousin Jake are given creative freedom in our promos. All in all, the chains are off and we can show the world what we have to offer."


JW: You've had an already lengthy time in the wrestling business. What are some of your favourite matches in your time so far?

CD: "Too many to name. Some of my favourite opponents are Sean Spears (Tye Dillinger), my trainer Derek Wylde, Tyson Dux, Tyler Tirva, Jake O’Reilly, and Crazzy Steve. But I’ve also been so blessed to wrestle many of my heroes and legends in the business too. Which to a small town kid like me is just mind blowing. I tagged with Jake Roberts and we did DDTs together to win our match. Unreal. I’ve wrestled Jeff Jarrett, tagged with Kevin Nash and Rey Mysterio. I’ve worked with the likes of Ted DiBiase, Tito Santana, Ricky Steamboat and so many more. I’m so grateful to have worked with my heroes. And even more grateful that they’ve all been so cool."


JW: What is the proudest moment in your career so far?

CD: "I have a lot of them. One would have to be after I wrestled a 30 minute main event with Ricky “The Dragon” Steamboat in my corner as my manager. After the match, we can to the locker room and Steamboat shook my hand and said, “Cody... you’re a great worker.”

To be complimented like that by every wrestler’s favourite wrestler, and someone with that pedigree in the business, and someone I grew up idolizing, meant the world to me."


JW: You have mastered the art of tag teaming and going solo in the ring, but of the two, which is your personal favourite?

CD: "Every wrestler sees themselves as a singles star. I grew up envisioning myself as a singles champion. Like every wrestler, I thrive in the spotlight and want all the attention on me. Haha

However, the chemistry I have with my Cousin Jake is something you don’t find a lot in this business. Since the first time we tagged, we just had “it” together. I love tagging with Jake and am looking forward to winning the Impact Tag Team Championship with him."


JW: Which style/s of pro wrestling are your favourite to watch?

CD: "Like I said, I watch old school stuff. That’s my go to. But I’m a pure wrestling fan. I watch EVERYTHING. But my favourite stuff is the stuff from my early childhood."


JW: What do you hope to achieve in the future that you haven't already?

CD: "My immediate plan is for The Deaners to win the Impact Tag Team Championships. And prove to the world we’re one of the best tag teams in the business today. I don’t think long term. I go with the flow man. I’m just gonna keep doing what I love and see where it takes me. It’s taken me to some amazing places with amazing people so far. I’m pumped to see where it will take me next. Ultimately, my plan to be the best dad I can be to my 4 kids and give them the best life I can."


JW: Where can our readers find Cody Deaner?

CD: "Social media:

Twitter @Cody Deaner

Instagram @codydeaner

Facebook Page Facebook.com/codydeaner

Official website at CodyDeaner.com"


JW: Is there anything you would like to say to conclude or Promote?

CD: "I’ve started doing professional speaking engagements in schools across North America. As someone from a small rural town, I encourage youth to dream BIG despite their circumstances. To learn more about that and look into bringing me into a school for a presentation, people can check out http://www.codydeaner.com/guestspeaking. I’ve also been doing a lot of Charity work through a program I call “Giv’er for Charity.” I raise money for a variety of children’s charities including autism community programs, children’s deaf summer camps, camps for child burn victims, Special Olympics and more. People can check out http://www.codydeaner.com/charity to find out more on that and how they can help and get involved."


JW: Lastly but not least, Thankyou Mr Deaner for Climbing 'Through The Ropes'!



Closing note;


I Would like to to personally extend a massive thank you to Mr Deaner for taking part in this interview, and taking time out of his schedule for us.


bottom of page