top of page

EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW WITH JEANIE CLARKE!



Through The Ropes' Jack Williams on 19/11/2017 interviewed the Pioneering Woman Manager, Lady Blossom! aka Jeanie Clarke!

JW: Through The Ropes is proud to present to you the one and only Jeanie Clarke, aka Lady Blossom! If It's okay, For the younger readers who may not have seen you, Could you please introduce yourself? JC: "Although I have spent the last 25 years away from the ring to raise my family, I guess many wrestling fans will remember me for my time as the evil valet of 'Stunning' Steve Austin in the USWA and WCW, where I worked under the name Lady Blossom."


JW: How and when did you first get into wrestling? Was it through a profession choice or when you a fan beforehand? JC: "I actually stumbled into pro wrestling by accident. I attended my very first show with a friend after her dad had spare tickets for an event at the Cliffs Pavilion in Southend-on-Sea. I immediately was drawn to the showmanship of the game once I saw Mark 'Rollerball' Rocco perform and, after the show, my friend and I bumped into a young Chris Adams when we went for a drink at the bar. He was so charming and asked if I would like to see him again. I brushed it off at first, but soon realised he was serious about seeing me. We started dating, and I later joined him as his second at ringside. Similar to a valet, a second would act as his corner person during his matches and offer him water and a towel during the intermission between rounds in the old-style British matches. Being the only female at ringside, this really caught the attention of the UK media, and I was really surprised by the response."

JW: In 1979, You worked for Joint Promotions, (which for those who don't know was the single biggest British Wrestling promotion and an integral part in wrestling history), But what was your favourite moment from your time there? JC: "That's right, Joint Promotions was absolutely massive as it started as a syndicate of many promoters who shared talent and operated across the country in the UK. I have two memories from my time there which really stand out for me.

The first would be Chris' match against Bobby Barnes in October 1980. It was held in my hometown at the Cliffs, where I first discovered wrestling, and it was so special to return to the venue. I was even more thrilled to find out they were taping our match for television as part of that following week's World of Sport broadcast. It was absolutely huge for me to be on the telly at an event filmed in my hometown, and I will never forget it. Today, I get a giggle from watching it, and seeing how shy I was in front of the camera that day.

Another match which stands out was held at the Belle Vue in Manchester between Chris and Rocco. That arena was really amazing, and every event there had a huge feel to it. It was in many ways the Madison Square Garden for the British wrestling faithful. With Rocco as the top star of the sport, it was a huge moment for Chris and I to perform against him at such a hallowed venue. One moment which got the crowd to roar was when Rollerball chased me at ringside and I knocked him with a thunderous slap to the face. It really drew an enormous reaction and that was the match where Chris and I felt like we had made it as stars in the business."


JW: How did you take to a new life in America in the 1980's for the first time? JC: "We loved it. Many of us Brits only dreamt about America from seeing it in movies, and it was a dream come true when Chris was offered a chance to perform in Los Angeles for the LeBell brothers who ran a promotion there. Coming from a recession-stricken England to a land of sunshine and beaches was such an exciting time for the both of us."

JW: Did your character have any influences? and if so, who were your main ones? JC: "After Chris and I split, it was years before I returned to wrestling at his urging. He wanted me to come back as his bitter ex-wife and manage his turncoat student Steve Austin. For the role, I took all my inspiration from Joan Collins, and her portrayal of Alexis Carrington in the television soap opera Dynasty. She was great as a pompous, snotty upper-class Brit who was perfectly dislikable. I wanted to translate that into a wrestling context as an outsider who looked down on the local fans to get a huge reaction in my new role as a power-dressing villain, and carried myself as such. "

JW: Of all the wrestlers that you have managed, who was your favourite? JC: "It would have to be Steve. He was so shy and humble when I met him, and really struggled financially before he learned to grow into a confident performer. It was amazing seeing him rise into the biggest star in the sport. But the happiest time I had in the business was in the USWA during our angle with Chris and Toni. Adams was brilliant at putting together our storyline and his booking helped make it one of the top feuds in wrestling and it really launched our careers to a new level in the United States. Beyond the ring, we were all friends and it was such a fun experience for us."

JW: What is your proudest moment in your life? JC: "Firstly, raising my three precious daughters and, secondly, overcoming seventeen years of drug-addiction. I am proud to say that I have now been clean for four years."

JW: You have been very physical when it came to aiding your wrestlers during their matches, But have you ever trained as an in-ring performer? "In the USWA, I never received any training before stepping into the ring, and my involvement was something that grew out of the storyline feud that Steve and I had with Chris and Toni Adams. Unfortunately, this sometimes caused Toni and I to get hurt, but I think it added to the realism of our matches.

Once Steve and I made our way to WCW, I continued to have a very physical role in his matches. I would often interfere in his defences of the World Television Title, and fans would love it as I'd receive my comeuppance in shows held all over the country. I remember how professional the guys we worked alongside were, they really did their best to protect me. Everyone from Tracy Smothers, Dustin Rhodes, PN News, Big Josh and so many others would throw me around like a rag doll during our matches. In one contest, I remember being charged in the corner by Ron Simmons, who tackled me against the turnbuckles. I collapsed in a heap and everyone backstage was worried that I was really hurt. Dusty Rhodes, who was booking the shows, came over in a panic to check on my condition, but the truth is I hardly felt a thing that night. I guess I sold that one well to fool someone with his standing in the business!

It was only about six months into my run that I found out I was pregnant with my second child and I was quickly taken off the road. Thank goodness - I was being geared up for some matches against Madusa, and I think she would have kicked my butt! In all honesty, she was always really nice to me but I know how hard she worked in Japan to achieve the style that ended up making her a huge star. I'm really proud of the success she achieved. To this day, she is a great friend."


JW: Which style/s of pro wrestling are your favourite to watch? JC: "I like matches where there is a strong storyline build to them. I was always drawn to the promos and entrances as much as the in-ring work. I really loved watching the work of The Undertaker, who I first met in Texas when he was just starting. "

JW: What do you hope to achieve in the future that you haven't already? JC: "I am looking to move into a new family home, and settling into a new happy life. I have also been studying a number of courses, and recently achieved three higher-education degrees. I guess that I would like to work in a new career where I can interact with the public and help them out somehow. I have found so much purpose since quitting drugs. Most of all, I want to continue to support my daughters and see them follow their dreams."

JW: Where can our readers find Jeanie Clarke? JC: "I love hearing from fans who can reach me on Facebook and on Twitter. I really enjoy hearing their stories and sharing memories with them. I am amazed that, so many years after my career ended, people still remember me. It's really humbling and I appreciate the support, especially the feedback I received following the release of my autobiography Through the Shattered Glass."

JW: Is there anything you would like to say to conclude or Plug? JC: "I just want to thank everyone who has reached out to me over the years, and I have really enjoyed the chance to reconnect with the fans and many of my old colleagues at conventions all over the world when I was promoting my book. My story Through the Shattered Glass was a really emotional journey for me, and can be purchased on Amazon all over the world (https://www.amazon.com/Through-Shattered-Glass-Jeanie-Clarke/dp/1530387019 …). I worked on the book alongside Bradley Craig, a respected wrestling historian from the UK who also founded The Professional Wrestling Hall of Fame for Scotland. It was really cool piecing together my story after all these years, and understanding the pain that my family had went through on the road to recovery. As a special thank you to fans for the holiday season, I have been personally signing 8x10s and limited-edition copies of the books at a heavily reduced price when they contact me on Facebook and order directly. I really like engaging with them and hearing their memories of professional wrestling. I try to answer every query that I can."

JW: Lastly but not least, Thankyou Ms Clarke for Climbing 'Through The Ropes'! JC: "Thanks guys, I have really enjoyed speaking with you and sharing some great memories of a very special time in my life."

Closing Note;

Don't forget to find Jeanie's new book today, and Finally I'd like to thank Jeanie for taking time out of her busy schedule for this interview. Once again, I present to you Jeanie Clarke!

bottom of page