top of page

EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW WITH LANNY POFFO!



Through The Ropes' Jack Williams interviewed the Legend Lanny Poffo, aka The Genius!

JW: First off, Besides your Father and Randy, Who were your main influences in the NWA territories and yours Father's promotion? LP: "As a good guy, Eduardo Carpentier and Antonino Rocca. As a villain, Ricky Star and Boris Malenko"


JW: In your opinion, who was the greatest opponent you ever fought? LP: "Hulk Hogan on NBC. 1989. Nothing before or since has been as important!"

JW: What is your proudest moment in your life? LP: "The birth of my daughter and the birth of my grandson"

JW: Which style/s of pro wrestling are your favourite to watch and to work? LP: "Jack Swagger, Rey Mysterio Jr. Anybody different!"

JW: Who would be your ultimate fantasy opponent? Past or Present? LP: "Hulk Hogan was my fantasy turned reality. I spent 4 months on MAIN EVENTS with him"

JW: Has British wrestling ever had any influence during your career? LP: "I was friends with Johnny Eagles, Al Hayes and Lord Layton and Blears."

JW: How did your Father first start in wrestling? LP: "At DePaul University he was friends with Carl Engstrom who was doing "smokers" (semi-pro) From there, it blossomed."

JW: Were your matches you had planned prior, or made up in the ring? LP: "Both planned and made up."


JW: What was your experience of the Battle Royal on Saturday Night's Main Event with Andre The Giant? LP: "I was proud to be of service to Andre. I did my best to get him over as a top villain."

JW: What do you hope to achieve in the future that you haven't already? LP: "I'd like to live 38 more years and have people tell me how good I look to be 100"

JW: Across your entire career, what is your most memorable match? LP: "Hulk, Hulk and Hulk. 21 years of forgettable matches vs. one great match with the immortal HULK HOGAN"

JW: Where can the readers find Lanny Poffo? LP: "www.geniuslannypoffo.com"

JW: Is there anything you would like to say to conclude? LP: "The world is into PLEASURE, POWER and POSSESION. I'm into HEALTH, WEALTH and FREEDOM. Dr. Joel Fuhrman GREENS, BEANS, ONIONS, MUSHROOMS, BERRIES and SEEDS."

JW: Lastly but not least, Thankyou Mr Poffo for Climbing 'Through The Ropes'! LP: "God save the Queen!"

Closing note;

I'd like to personally thank Mr Poffo for taking time out of his busy schedule for this interview. Once again, I present to you 'The Genius' Lanny Poffo!

bottom of page